Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking after ourselves

Flying_Hams
Community Guide

Is this workplace bullying? I am unsure... this will be a long post

Hi all

I will need to change names to keep it anonymous so here goes. I need some advice over how to process what happened 2 days ago at work.

On Tuesday afternoon at work I was sitting there doing whatever work I'm meant to. The manager (call her D) comes over to talk to me and ask me how I am etc. D asks what I'm doing in life at the moment, if I was full-time yet, what I am studying etc. I replied by saying that I was still going in my job to which D replies "oh isn't that bad is it?"

This brief interchange took place in the open so that everyone around could hear it. I told D what it was that I was studying and then D drags in N (one of the young ones who works at this work stations) into the chat we are having because he studied that too. Both ask where I am studying at and I said it was online. 

As this is taking place, I noticed two people listening in and smiling while its going on. One of them is P (who i know to be relatively new to their role) who i tried to talk to in the morning when I had to deliver some stuff to them. Had nothing to say to me except the basics. The other person listening in someone called T (who has been there a while).