Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

juliaw
New Contributor

Seeking advice to help a friend with potential BPD

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting and im seeking as much advicce as possible!

Over the past 6 months, one of my friends has been starting to display symptoms that lie very close to diagnostic tools of BPD. Originally, my friends and I assumed it was her depression getting worse, but with the fact that her medication not seeming to be working, or the phycologist visits making it worse, we started to feel that maybe the was an underlying issue that needed to be addressed. 

She isnt professionally diagnosed with BPD, and i am not trying to make that assumption at all, but if it does happen to be the cause of her current problems, then I feel like i need to be more aware of the illness and how to go by it.

I come to this forum today to see if anyone on here can give me advice on how to acft from a friends perspective. Are there certain things i should try and implement into a conversations to help lean her towards seeking more professional help? Is there a certain wqay that i shouold be talking to her? Is it better or worse to bring up the idea of talking to someone about this? How should we act around her when we are all together? (I ask this because recently it feels like we have all been walking on eggshells around her to avoid getting her upset).

Literally any advice from any perspective can help. I was to be more knowledgeable in this area to be able to help my friend with whatever issues she is going through, and do it correctly.

Thanks in advance 🙂

2 REPLIES 2

Re: Seeking advice to help a friend with potential BPD